Update on Clarke

Posted: April 25, 2013 by Wyatt Arndt in Uncategorized

OK, so here is the deal, I just want to cover everything since I believe in running an open league.

Last night, as you can see in the post before this, Clarkey had a bit of an argument with many GM’s, including me, and as a result of his aggressive stance he took, I removed him from the league.

The caveat being that if he apologized or at the very least promised to tone down the attitude, then he could come back into the league. Clarkey continued to tweet disparagingly about the league, yet I still wanted to give him a chance to cool down, so I told him to sleep on it.

I woke up this morning and I see a bunch of RT’s from Clarkey, still being argumentative, still arguing about stuff from last night, and that was the final straw for me. I removed Clarkey officially from the league and replaced him.

Clarkey tweeted that he was going to apologize for last night, but here’s the thing, he knew he was on thin ice, yet he still chose to give attitude about everything. The first thing he did in the morning, instead of apologizing, was RT a bunch of stuff about last night’s arguments. That is not the approach to take, you don’t argue again in the morning, then after you get let go, say “oh but I was going to apologize”.

Clarkey was a good GM, he was active, he played his games, I had nothing against him. I liked having him in the league. But people have to remember, I don’t get paid to run this league. Nor do you guys pay to play in this league. There is only so much I can take before it stops being fun and becomes work for me, and last night, it became work for me. Mocking the league openly, well, that was just too much for me. If you don’t like this league and I see you talking about it like that, then I will remove you, simple as that. Why be in this league if you don’t enjoy it?

A couple of points about last night:

– Clarkey was NOT in trouble for the toe drag move. At all. At no point did I threaten him with firing for using it, or threaten with him having to give up points. None of that was happening. The only thing I was doing was clarifying that you should avoid using the toe drag in the slot and then leading into a shot after that. This should have been an easy thing to accept. I find it hard to believe that a team can’t win a game if they have a toe drag leading to a shot removed from them. I don’t think anyone traded for and built a team around guys that could toe drag into the slot and slap the puck. All I wanted to do was avoid future arguments over toe drag situations.

– Rules will change and will be clarified as we play in this league. That’s just the way things work. If your mind gets blown by the idea that rules can change, then this league isn’t for you. I doubt many radical rules will happen (“EVERYONE HAS TO GIVE ME THEIR TOP PLAYERS, LOL!!!”), but it’s just the nature of the beast, sometimes new rules come into play, and sometimes things need to be clarified. Don’t freak out if this happens.

– If you disagree with something in the league, you know where to reach me. Talk to me like a man, send me a civil e-mail, and let’s talk about it. Taking an immature approach with me will not work, let’s just talk it out like two adults and I guarantee you will end up enjoying my responses far more.

So that’s it. I am sorry about the drama, but the lack of respect really pushed me to my tipping point last night, so instead of getting frustrated with the league and shutting it down, I chose to remove one GM. It sucks, I didn’t like doing it, but it was too much.

Let’s get back to arguing over trades, shall we?

-Wyatt

 

 

Update: Case in point

colorado

 

Clarkey apologizes. Then minutes later makes yet another comment about last night. This is not the way to do things.

 

 

Leave a Reply

