GM one-on-one: TBL [PS3]

Posted: September 21, 2012 by Phuong Pham in Uncategorized

While I was out in Florida drinking with GM Artie, I head out to Tampa Bay to meet new Tampa Bay GM Henry. Enjoy getting to know him folks.

“Introduce yourself, who are you and what qualifies you to be a general manager in the NHL?”

I’m Henry Shum, General Manager of the Tampa Bay Lightning. Born in Asia, but received all my education in Canada B.C and a Vancouver Canucks fan growing up! I guess understanding the league’s system and able to make wise decisions qualifies me as a GM of in the NHL.

“What was your reaction to being award the Tampa Bay franchise?”

To be honest, I was quite surprised when I was informed I was hired to be the general manager of the Tampa Bay Lightning. But this is huge for me because it proves that my hard work has paid off as I was hired to this organization

“What do you expect out of this season? Are you trying to win the Cup this year?”

Of course every team wants to win the Stanley Cup. As for us right now, our task is to make the playoffs first and we’ll go from there.

“Are there any areas you’d like to improve your team?”

Quite honestly, no matter how good a team is, there would always be room for improvement. That being said I won’t comment on that too much. We’ll let our action do all the talking.

“Alright, enough formalities, let’s get into the real important stuff. Are you for or against diving?”

Ahh Diving, HA HA HA HA! Well, there are embellishments here and there once in a while that being said, of course I wouldn’t accept diving. Just play the game!

“Any plans to sell the naming rights of the arena this year and make it a yearly thing?”

Good question, I wouldn’t do it. My job is team itself and that’s what I will be focusing on. Nothing else!

“No Stamkos, how do you handle that?”

One player doesn’t guarantee anything. Hockey is a team game. As long as the team plays well under the system, we will be fine!

“The current incarnation of the Lightning make me think of the toughness and bully-ness (is that even a word?) that the 2011 Cup champs Boston had. Are you trying to replicate their success?”

Well no, we have a different system that we follow. I expect the coach to discipline the players!

“What’s it like to be a GM in the sunbelt? What’s “Business casual” out in Florida?”

Well, this is my first year so I will not be able to give you a definite answer on that, but only time will tell. Business casual? Ha ha I have no idea.

“Have you thought about implementing open-toed skates for the players to bring in more of a “Florida” feel to the on-ice product?”

I haven’t thought about that to be honest with you. As I’ve mentioned above, my job is to deal with the Tampa Bay Lightning, nothing else. But good question!

“What’s Christmas like in Florida? Do you even know what snow is?”

Maybe a bit colder and some snow???? Florida doesn’t seem to be a place that we will see snow here! I grew up in BC, so I guess I would know what snow is?

Leave a Reply

